Indian Lady: A born Bargainer | Karva Chauth Shopping

What is Karva Chauth? When it comes and what are the importance of this festival for an Indian lady?

The festival falls on the “Kartik ki Chauth” which means the fourth day of the wanning moon or dark fortnight of Hindu month of Kartik. According to English calendar, the month corresponds to October or November. Women begin preparing for Karwa Chauth a few days in advance, by buying cosmetics

Mehndi on Palm

Mehndi on Palm

(shringar), traditional adornments or jewelry, and puja items, such as the karwa lamps, matthi, henna and the decorated puja thali.

The origin of this fest is very ancient , you can enjoy “The Story of Queen Veervati” and other interesting tails to know more about Karva Chauth, why this came and how this came in Indian culture.

This festival has also become a fashion symbol in modern era. Special eateries for the day of Karwa Chauth are gearing up. Most restaurants have special menus for this special day. No wonder, almost all eating point in the city is offering plenty of attractive options to choose from.

Karwa Chauth is celebrated primarily by women, so I did not get any official leave 😦

Men are entirely excluded from the festival’s observances until moon-rise, though they are expected to demonstrate attention and concern for their fasting wives. Hey! I am not married, I can enjoy my night with my friends.

Beauty rituals and dressing-up are a significant part of the day, the festival is seen as an event that bonds women together. I decided to be a part of shopping mob.

Karva-chauth

Karva-chauth

As I was free on this Sunday so I decided to go with my best buddies to enjoy local market shopping. We were 3 people (2 Girls and one Boy). At 10:30, we was in the market. Chandigarh is well managed city. Local Market was very attractive and 80% of crowd face was girls. Most of them was waiting for applying Henna Mehndi on palms and feet. Then Fashionable and multicolored glass bangles, nail-paint stores were second most crowded stole.

My friends had a long list of ladies items and we went to the different different shops to complete their hand made to do list.

The best part that I enjoyed, their bargaining skills. Hats off to girls! They bargain and reduce the cost by 25-30%. I was surprised with their skills. Then they go to the Mehndi stall to decorate their palms with Mehndi. They spend near about 8,000 according to Indian currency. We stayed near about 7 hours in market. It was the longest shopping day in my life and I bought NOTHING…. 😦

2 thoughts on “Indian Lady: A born Bargainer | Karva Chauth Shopping

    • Yes, I bought nothing…:( But I really enjoyed that time. Conversation between shopkeepers and buyers was very interesting. You should try local market shopping at-least for once. This may be a good fun for you.

      Thanks for stopping and commenting on my blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

